back to all

Is there a single perfect way for mothers to raise their kids in this rapidly changing world?

POSTED ON03 Jan 2018

Share

Raising a kid is one of the toughest challenges a parent faces in today’s world. Some parents manage to overcome some of these challenges while still struggling with the others; leading them to seek consultation from specialists in the fields of parenting and child psychology. A mother might also seek help on social media in hope of finding realistic information and tips that will help her with daily parenting issues. But, parents especially moms, are constantly being surrounded with huge amount of information; positive and negative ideas, dos and don'ts! As a result, they get stuck in a muddle of contradicting thoughts, where each one of them sees the situation from his or her point of view and culture.

With time, like everything else in this world, there are new trends in parenting and education. In the past, confused parents used to go back to their parents or grandparents for consultation, as they are people with life-long experience in parenting. Today’s generation of mothers’ don't stop at the advice of their grandmothers, because the way of living has changed over time and so did the way mothers think about raising their kids. For example, the Montessori Method is widely spread and is chosen by many mothers because it is considered to be one of the best ways to develop the child's creative abilities. It also focuses on the importance of connecting with the surrounding nature without limiting the child’s movement. On the other hand, some mothers prefer the Waldorf method which aims to empower children and enable them to choose their path in life independently. This method emphasizes the role of imagination in learning. This helps to holistically integrate the intellectual, practical, and artistic development of pupils. Aside from these methods, some mothers learn from their very own 'super nanny', while others take their children to educational specialists who adopt Islamic educations.

But how does a mom deal with her kids in everyday situations? For example, what should she do when her child acts misbehaves and doesn't listen to her instructions? The usual way of disciplining a child is to keep him or her in a place with no entertainment for five minutes, and when the child follows the instructions and apologizes, the mother will forgive and hug her child. On the other hand, according to the Montessori Method some mothers find that isolating a child like this is a punishment, similar to solitary confinement and psychological torture. This method states that a human learns from their mistakes, and isolation does not teach anything, in fact, it inflicts heavy abuse on the child.

But what comes after Montessori, Waldorf, super nanny and other emerging methods mixed with different psychologists’ opinions?  How can a mother choose the 'best' way to raise her children?

We, in Abjadiyat, advise parents to realize that there is no 'one size fits all' method to raise your children. You can use any method or style to teach them that is suitable to their abilities, needs and level of understanding.                                                                                 

Our app is an up-to-date educational app that complies with the current standards in education. Since we are dealing with experts in this field, we advise parents to always look for the right information and use their own intuition in choosing the best way to raise their children.

Tags
parenting

العودة لجميع الملفات

هل هنالك طريقة مثلى للأمهات حتى يربين أولادهن في عصر التغير السريع؟

تم نشره يوم03 يناير 2018

Share

يواجه الآباء اليوم صعوبات عدة في تربية أولادهم فيجتازون بعضها ويتعثرون بغيرها، ما يجعلهم في بعض الأحيان يطلبون استشارة إختصاصيين في مجال التربية وعلم النفس، فيدخلون في متاهة الأفكار المتناقضة إذ يرى كل واحد منهم المسألة من منظاره الخاص وثقافته. أو تستعين بوسائل التواصل الإجتماعي علّها تحظى بمعلومات تساعدها على انتقاء أفضل أساليب التربية المعاصرة، بالإضافة إلى تخطي العديد من المشاكل التي تصادفها يومياً، واتخاذ الخيار السليم مع شريكها أمام القرارات الكبيرة في تربيتهم. ولكن المفاجأة الكبرى هي وجود كم هائل من المعلومات والأفكار الإيجابية والسلبية والممنوعات والمسموحات وهنا تقع الحيرة؟                                          

تبرز في كل فترة زمنية فكرة رائجة تُشكّل نموذجاً في التربية. ففي السابق مثلاً كانت الأسرة تستعين بالأجداد والتعلم من الأمهات ذوات الخبرة. أمّا اليوم، فجيل الأمهات لا يكتفي بنصائح الجدة، لأن الحياة نفسها والزمان قد تغيّرا، وأصبحت الأم تأخذ على عاتقها هذه المهمة مُستعينةً بالمناهج الحديثة. فانتشر مثلًا منهج "مونتيسوري" الذي اعتمدته الكثير من الأمهات، لأنه يعتبر نموذجاً للتنمية البشرية يهدف إلى مساعدة الأطفال على تطوير قدراتهم الإبداعية، ويُركّز على أهمية الإتصال بالبيئة الطبيعية وعدم إعاقة حركة الطفل. وهالك أخريات لجأن لمنهج "والدورف" الذي يهدف الى تمكين الأطفال من اختيار مسارهم في الحياة بحرية، ويُؤكّد أنهم يتعلّمون بالتقليد والمحاكاة لأنهم ينجذبون إلى اللعب التخيلي والفنون. وأخريات تعلمن من "سوبر ناني" وأمهات أخريات لجأن لمربيين تربويين يعتمدون التربية الإسلامية وغيرها الكثير.

كل يوم هنالك موضة رائجة في عالم التربية!  وهي مسألة صعبة، فكثيراً ما تطرح الأم السؤال التالي: ماذا أفعل حينما يسيئ طفلي التصرف ولا يستمع لإرشاداتي وكيف أتعامل معه؟ تُعاقب الأم طفلها المشاغب أحياناً، فتضعه في مكان خالٍ من الترفيه لمدة خمس دقائق وإذا لم يلتزم أطالت المدة وإذا التزم واعتذر سامحته وقبلته. في حين تعتبر أم أخرى أنّ عزل الطفل هو عقاب أشبه بالحبس الإنفرادي ووسيلة تعذيب نفسي، معتمدة على وجهة نظر مونتيسوري التي تؤكد أنّ الإنسان يتعلم من أخطائه والعزل لا يُعلّمه شيئاً بل يُعرّضه لإساءة نفسية بالغة.           

ماذا بعد منهجي مونتيسوري ووالدورف وسوبر ناني والمناهج الأخرى الناشئة وآراء أطباء علم النفس المختلفة؟ وكيف ستختار الأم الطرق المثلى لتربية أبنائها؟

نصيحتنا لكم من أبجديات، أيها الآباء أن تعوا أنه لا يوجد قوالب جاهزة لتربية أطفالكم إذ يمكنكم تطويع أي منهج أو أسلوب لتعليمهم وفقاً للطريقة التي يتجاوبون معها وترونها مناسبة لقدراتهم واحتياجاتهم وعالمهم.                                                                                       

يُواكب تطبيق أبجديات التغييرات في مناهج التربية بطريقة إيجابية كوننا نتعامل مع خبراء في هذه المجالات وننصح الأهل دائماً بالبحث عن المعلومات الصحيحة واستخدام حدسهم في اختيار الطريقة الأمثل لتربية أطفالهم.

كلمات مفتاحية
تربية حديثة